Get ready to pay property tax in SAS Nagar | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Get ready to pay property tax in SAS Nagar

punjab Updated: Jan 25, 2013 00:21 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
property tax

Imposition of property tax in SAS Nagar is inevitable as the district zoning committee on Thursday approved the proposal to divide SAS Nagar into seven zones for imposing the property tax despite strong opposition from residents as well as the elected representatives, including local MLA as well as MP.

To initiate the process of imposing the property tax, a meeting of the district zoning committee was held under the chairmanship of director local bodies Priyank Bharti.

"The proposal to divide the town into zones had been approved and now objections from the general public will be invited giving a month's notice," confirmed Dilraj Singh, joint commissioner, municipal corporation, SAS Nagar.

The town will be divided into seven zones and the tax will be different in each zone.

Dissenting voices
The meeting of the zoning committee witnessed various dissenting voices both within the meeting room as well as outside.

SAS Nagar MLA Balbir Singh Sidhu said, "There is no elected body in place in SAS Nagar and the government is unnecessarily burdening the residents by imposing property tax. SAS Nagar had been exempted from property tax or house tax and now without taking the opinion of the residents, the government is putting financial burden on SAS Nagar."

He added, "Residents of SAS Nagar are already paying development charge and non-construction fee. The revenue generated by SAS Nagar is being diverted to other district and now with this move too, the government would be diverting the funds for development in other districts."

The residents' welfare associations under the banner of the Citizen Welfare and Development Forum on Thursday held a protest outside the MC Bhawan when the meeting of the zoning committee was going on.

"There is no elected body in SAS Nagar. The decision of imposing tax should have been taken only by an elected body and till SAS Nagar elects its MC house, the government cannot impose tax," said SS Dhanoa, president of the forum.

" Zone A - Sector 53, 59, 60, 61, 70 and 71 and a part of Sector 69
" Zone B - Sectors 63, 64, 65, 48, residential area of 66 and 67
" Zone C - Sectors 54, 55 and 56
" Zone D - Sectors 62, 51
" Zone E - Industrial sectors of 72, 73 and 66
" Zone F - Old industrial area of Sector 57, 58 and 56-A
" Zone G - All villages within the MC limit are in this zone

What next?
The deputy commissioner of SAS Nagar, Varun Roojam, will now hold a meeting to determine the tax which would be imposed on each zone.

How the tax will be calculated
The tax will be calculated on the basis of a tentative unit value of a property by the authorities concerned. The tax will be imposed only on the covered area of the property. Each zone will have a different basic unit value. This means that the tax rate will be different in each zone. The unit value rate in each zone has been determined after considering the prevalent price of land, the cost of construction and the rental value in the area and the rates decided by the administration. The exact unit value will be finalised by the unit valuation committee.