Gidderbaha still a weak point of SAD, 11 of 21 seats won with small margin | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Gidderbaha still a weak point of SAD, 11 of 21 seats won with small margin

punjab Updated: May 26, 2013 00:27 IST
HT Correspondent

While the Shiromani Akali Dal swept the local bodies polls in the home district of chief minister Parkash Singh Badal, Gidderbaha still remained the weak point of the party since the departure of Manpreet Badal from the SAD.

The SAD lost only two (Kotli and Gurusar) out of the 23 block samiti seats in the Gidderbaha constituency. However, it won 11 of the 21 seats bagged by the party with a thin margin.

The change of guard in the party leadership in the constituency at the last moment by making Hardip Singh Dimpi halqa in-charge and bringing in traditional Akali leaders at the helm of affairs did not assure convincing victory for the party. The rejected votes and the divide of votes between the Congress and People's Party of Punjab candidates helped the SAD in retaining many of the seats.

The SAD candidate won the Guri Sangar seat with a margin of 71 votes whereas 127 votes were rejected amid allegations of bullying in the elections with the help of government machinery.

The party candidate defeated the Congress candidate with 295 votes at Husnar, where 80 votes were rejected and more than 500 votes were cast for the PPP candidate.

The SAD won Sahib Chand seat by just 35 votes from the Congress candidate; here, 121 votes were rejected and the PPP secured 468 votes.

The party candidates managed to secure the Gidderbaha and Dhulkot seats with a margin of 151 and 167 votes, respectively; the rejected votes on these seats were 139 and 118, respectively.

The Duhewala seat was secured by the party by a marhin of 163 votes; 151 votes were rejected here. The margin of victory at Madhir was 139. At Bharu, the victory margin was 135 votes, whereas 130 votes were rejected.

The margin of victory was 318 and 341 at Sukhna Ablu and Buttar Sharihn, respectively. At Buttar Sharihn, 103 votes were rejected, and 225 votes were secured by the PPP. At Hari Ke Kalan, the SAD won with a margin of 37 votes, and 150 votes were rejected here.