Gurgaon seat sees highest 11% jump | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Gurgaon seat sees highest 11% jump

punjab Updated: Apr 16, 2014 08:17 IST
Rajesh Moudgil
Rajesh Moudgil
Hindustan Times

Gurgaon parliamentary seat saw the highest jump of 11.02% in turnout in Haryana on the polling day (April 10), compared to the 2009 general election.

The Gurgaon assembly segment of the Lok Sabha seat (which has the highest 18.3 lakh voters in Haryana) too witnessed a jump of 15.18%, the highest ever.

On April 10, Bawal assembly segment in Gurgaon LS seat recorded 73.19% polling, Rewari, 70.06%, Pataudi 73.22%, Badshahpur 68.55%, Gurgaon 66.97%, Sohna 75.88%, Nuh 77.81%, Ferozepur Jhirka 76.20% and Punhana 74.49%. In 2009, Bawal saw 63.92% polling, Rewari, 62.74%, Pataudi, 66.36%, Badshahpur, 57.36%, Gurgaon 51.79%, Sohna, 66.15%, Nuh 64.89%, Ferozepur Jhirka 59.75% and Punhana 61.12%.

Faridabad LS seat saw the lowest turnout in the state at 65.18%; its Ballabhgarh assembly se gment saw the least (59.2%). It was lowest in 2009 too, when it had recorded 56.81% and Ballabgarh 49.52%.
While nine of the 10 LS seats saw an increase in turnout, only Bhiwani-Mahendergarh seat saw a decrease (1.5%). It recorded 72.53% polling in 2009 while it was 71.03% this time.

Several assembly segments of LS seats recorded more than 80% turnout this time. These were Jagadhari (Ambala LS seat), 80.29%; and Kalanwali, Rania and Ellenabad (Sirsa LS seat), 80.88%, 80.51% and 80.76%, respectively. The Sirsa LS seat has recorded the overall maximum turnout of 77.11% in the state (up from 75.01% in 2009 LS polls).

In 2009, the highest polling ( 75.29%) was registered by Kurukshetra constituency.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature