Haryana Cong chief Tanwar among 45 to file nominations | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Haryana Cong chief Tanwar among 45 to file nominations

punjab Updated: Mar 21, 2014 11:22 IST
Highlight Story

As many as 45 candidates, including Haryana Congress president Ashok Tanwar and Aam Aadmi Party leader Yogendra Yadav, submitted their papers on the fourth day of filing of nominations on Thursday for the April 10 elections to the state's 10 Lok Sabha seats.

So far, a total number of 74 candidates have filed their nomination papers including Tanwar and Yadav, who filed their nominations from Sirsa and Gurgaon, respectively, Haryana's chief electoral officer Srikant Walgad said.

He said filing of nomination papers started on March 15 and would continue till March 22. On Thursday, a maximum number of eight nominations were filed from the Hisar constituency, followed by seven each from Sonepat and Gurgaon.

The scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on March 23 and withdrawal will take place on March 26 when the final picture of contestants will become known.

About 1.55 crore voters, including 71 lakh women, are eligible to cast their votes at 16,129 polling stations, including 11,644 in rural areas, from 7 am to 6 pm on April 10.

Of the 10 Lok Sabha seats, at present Congress has nine MPs, while the Haryana Janhit Congress MP represents the Hisar constituency.