Hectic lobbying on for Chandigarh Club elections | punjab$chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Hectic lobbying on for Chandigarh Club elections

punjab Updated: Mar 05, 2016 12:43 IST
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Leaving no stone unturned, candidates are making an extensive use of social media, radio and WhatsApp besides distributing pamphlets in the run-up to the Chandigarh Club executive body elections to be held on March 7 after a gap of 11 years.

As many as 21 candidates are in the ray for the posts of eight executive members with four people vying for the president’s post.

Sandeep Sahni, Ravinder Pal Singh (Pali), AK Sinha and RK Mittal are trying to reach out to voters to grab the top post. The candidates have created Facebook pages where they are highlighting their achievements and vision for the club. Some are sending updates to the members on WhatsApp.

A candidate for the president’s post is even using radio to reach out to 8,000 club members, highlighting his “administrative skills” and how he can “bring about a change”.

Others are sending SMSes highlighting their profile. While some talk about the past glory and achievements of the club, others are not mincing words taking a dig at the old executive body.

Then there are some who are highlighting their educational qualifications right from school to the university level.

Even the candidates’ spouses are making calls to muster support for their husbands/wives. Besides, pamphlets carrying the names, profiles, pictures with ballot numbers of candidates are being circulated at the members’ doorsteps.

The elections are being held for the post of president and eight executive members while the vice-president has been elected unanimously.

The last election was held in 2004 in which Mukesh Bassi was elected as the president. He resigned from the post in 2012 after becoming a municipal councillor.

The club, established in 1957, has around 10,000 members of which 8,000 have voting rights. The voting will be held from 11am to 9pm on March 7 and the counting will take place on March 8.