HP: EC issues notification for LS, Vidhan Sabha seats | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

HP: EC issues notification for LS, Vidhan Sabha seats

punjab Updated: Apr 12, 2014 21:15 IST
HT Correspondent

Election Commission of India on Saturday issued notification for the election schedule for four Lok Sabha and one Vidhan Sabha seat (Sujanpur assembly) in Himachal Pradesh, which will go to poll on May 7.

State chief electoral officer Narender Chauhan said that the last date for making nominations has been fixed for April 19, while the nomination would be scrutinised on April 21. The candidates can withdraw their nominations by April 23.

The election in the state on four Lok Sabha constituencies would be held on May 7 from 7 am to 6 pm.

Simultaneously the bi-election for Sujanpur assembly segment, which fell vacant after the resignation of sitting independent legislator Rajinder Rana -- who is the Congress nominee from Hamirpur Lok Sabha seat -- will also be held.

With this notification, electioneering would pick up pace in the state. Rajinder Rana will file nomination on April 14, while Congress nominee from Shimla Lok Sabha constituency, Mohan Lal Bragta, will file his papers on April 16. Mandi candidate and sitting Lok Sabha member Pratibha Singh and Kangra candidate Chander Kumar will file their nomination on April 17. Chief minister Virbhadra Singh would also attend the nomination process of Pratibha Singh.

From the saffron side, former chief minister Shanta Kumar will file nomination papers on April 17 and will be accompanied by Yoga Guru Baba Ram Dev. Other candidates who will be filing nomination on April 17 include Ram Swaroop (Mandi) and Virender Kashyap (Shimla) while former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal’s son and party’s nominee from Hamirpur, Anurag Thakur, will file his papers on April 16.

So far, Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and new entrant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has fielded candidate for all four Lok Sabha seats while Communist Party of India- Marxist CPI (M) has fielded candidates on two Lok Sabha seats, including Shimla and Mandi.