Indian teams win Kabaddi World Cup 2014 | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Indian teams win Kabaddi World Cup 2014

punjab Updated: Dec 21, 2014 09:11 IST
Kamaldeep Singh Brar
World Cup Kabaddi teams


Indian men and women teams won the fifth Kabaddi World Cup 2014 at a grand finale held at the Guru Gobind Singh stadium here. This is the fifth consecutive win for the Indian men team and the fourth consecutive time for the women’s team.

The men team’s victory was however marred by allegation of favouritism leveled by the men’s team from Pakistan, whom India defeated for the fourth time today. The Indian women team defeated the New Zealand team for the second time in a row.

History repeated itself as teams of both men and women section had clashed during the finals of Fourth Kabaddi World Cup 2013 at Ludhiana. And in both the matches, India had emerged victorious.

During the finals of women section, India defeated the Kiwi team by 36-27. The Indian eves started the lead from the beginning and by half time, they were leading by 18-14. For India, raiders Priyanka Devi and Ram Bateri both scored 8 points each and Sukhwinder Kaur scored 7 points, while stoppers Anu Rani secured 4 while Ritu and Jasvir secured one point each. Similarly, for Kiwis, raiders Lani Perese scored 12, Motu Elizabeth scored 9 and Pomare scored 4 points, while stoppers Titu and Tekawa secured one point each points.

During the finals of men section, India defeated Pakistan team by 45-42. For India, raiders Sandeep Singh Surakhpur and Sandeep Luddar scored 16 and 10 points respectively, while stoppers Yadwinder Singh Yada "Surakhpur" secured 5, while Gopi secured 3 points respectively. Similarly, for the Pakistan team, raiders Shafiq Ahmad Chishti, Mohammad Irfan and Akmal Sajjad Dogar scored 15, 13 and 6 points respectively, while stoppers Musharaff Javed Janjua secured 4 points for his team. Pakistan had maintained the lead in the match till the last minute when the Indian team caught up with Pakistan and leveled the scrore 41-41. Then, the Indian team suddenly took the lead and won the match in last two minutes by 45-42.

This led the Pakistani team to allege favouritism.

The best raider of women section were Ram Bateri and Priyanka and best stopper of women section was Anu Rani. All of them were awarded with a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh each. New Zealand raider Lani Perese and stopper Tito were also awarded with a special cash prize of Rs 1 lakh each.

The best raider of men section are Sandeep Surakhpur of India and Shafiq Ahmad Chishti of Pakistan and best stopper of men section was Yadwinder Singh Yada "Surakhpur". All of them were awarded with Preet Tractors each.

In this event, 11 teams in men section and eight teams in the women section had participated. The 11 teams if men section included India, Pakistan, Argentina, United States of America, England, Canada, Australia, Iran, Denmark, Spain and Sweden whereas in Women section eight teams including that of Azerbaijan, Pakistan, Mexico, New Zealand, United States of America, England, Denmark and India competed.

The winner of men section, India, won itself a prize money of Rs 2 crore and first runners up, Pakistan, Rs 1 crore, while the winner of women section, India, won itself a prize money of Rs 1 crore and first runners up, New Zealand, won Rs 51 lakh.

In men section, the Iran team has stood third and won a prize money of Rs 51 lakh, while in women section, the Pakistan team stood third and won a prize money of Rs 25 lakh. Both these matches were held at Baba Kala Mehar Stadium at Barnala yesterday.

During the closing ceremony clips depicting the history of all five world cup kabaddi editions and the theme song of Kabaddi was shown. Punjabi singers Gippy Grewal, Miss Pooja and Satinder Satti also gave impressive performances by presenting their famous tracks. A special session for martial art Gatka and laser shot also remained the center of attraction.

The finals were held at the newly constructed Guru Gobind Singh Multipurpose Stadium which was inaugurated by Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal and Deputy CM Sukhbir Badal. The CM announced to double the prize money for Women World Cup Kabaddi from existing Rs 1 crore to Rs 2 crore. Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar were the chief guest on the occasion, while Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Sarbananda Sonowal was the guest of honour.

Terming Punjab and Haryana as elder and younger brother, Khattar said that the need of the hour was that both the state governments make concerted efforts to come with a ‘Joint Sports hub’ for promoting sport activity in both the states. He said that the Union government should also help this endeavor of both the states to promote sports in them.

Sukhbir Singh Badal urged the Union Government to enlist rural and traditional games like Kabaddi, Gatka, Desi Kushti etc. in National Sports list so that these games could be taken to new scales in coming years.