HindustanTimes Wed,17 Sep 2014

Contempt notice to city police commissioner

HT Correspondent , Hindustan Times  Chandigarh, March 15, 2013
First Published: 11:58 IST(15/3/2013) | Last Updated: 20:35 IST(15/3/2013)

The Punjab and Haryana high court, on Friday, issued a contempt notice to Jalandhar police commissioner Gaurav Yadav for not registering an FIR against former Punjab cabinet minister Avtar Henry for getting an Indian passport after changing his name and then contesting elections in India by concealing the fact that he is a British citizen.


During a hearing on a petition filed by Ajay Sehgal in this regard, a bench headed by justice Rajesh Bindal issued a notice to Yadav for May 17.

The petitioner said that vide an order dated December 19, 2012, a division bench headed by chief justice AK Sikri had directed the police commissioner to look into the allegations levelled by him (Sehgal) in a complaint dated September 27, 2012, seeking an FIR against Henry. The high court had also directed the commissioner to register an FIR against Henry if the allegations levelled by Sehgal appeared to be prima facie correct, and then investigate the matter within two months.

Sehgal had submitted a complaint to the Jalandhar police commissioner on September 27, 2012, demanding an FIR against Henry, whose original name is Avtar Singh Sanghera, after the union ministry of home affairs declared on August 16, 2012 that Henry had ceased to be an Indian citizen since 1969 when he got British citizenship and passport under the name of Avtar Singh.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

more from Jalandhar

Forum directs Improvement Trust to return Rs 9.8 lakh to complainant

The district consumer disputes redressal forum directed Jalandhar Improvement Trust (JIT) to refund a sum of Rs 9.87 lakh to a complainant who paid the money for allotment of a residential plot as the scheme under which the land was allotted has been stalled by the Punjab and Haryana high court.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved