HindustanTimes Fri,29 Aug 2014

SAD attains majority in Nawanshahr

Harpreet Kaur, Hindustan Times  Nawanshahr, May 23, 2013
First Published: 21:31 IST(23/5/2013) | Last Updated: 21:32 IST(23/5/2013)

SAD won 45 block samitis and six zila parishad seats in SBS Nagar district out of 88 and 10 zones, respectively.The Congress won 28 block samiti seats, while independents  won 15.


The SAD candidates who emerged victorious in zila parishad polls include Navdeep Singh from Kultham, Surjit Singh from Mukandpur, Raghuwinder Kaur from Daulatpur, Rana Partap from Bairsian, Sunit Kaur from Aur and Jujhar Singh from Garhi Kanugoan.

Congress nominee Rakesh Kumar won from Khatkar Kalan Jaswinder Singh from Rattewal and Amarjit  Kaur from Bahrowal zone. From Pojewal zone, independent candidate Mohan Singh emerged victorious.

In 10 out of 16 zones of Aur block, the SAD attained majority whereas Congress secured majority in six zones. In Banga Block, out of 23 seats, SAD and Congress had won 11 each and one seat was bagged by an Independent.

In Saroya block, SAD bagged 8 out of 15 and Congress won 7. In Balachaur block, SAD won five out of 16 , whereas Congress emerged victorious on 6. Five seats went to the independents.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

more from Jalandhar

Nine SDMs in Phagwara in 11 months affects work

Contrary to the Punjab government’s claims to introduce reforms in the government and make the bureaucracy responsible, the Phagwara sub division of Kapurthala district has witnessed nine subdivisional magistrates (SDMs) in the past 11 months.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved