Major reshuffle in Punjab police: 6 SSPs among 32 officers transferred

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Aug 06, 2016 20:11 IST

In a police shake-up involving 32 officers, the Punjab government on Saturday transferred six senior superintendents of police (SSPs) – posted at SBS Nagar (Nawanshahr), Gurdaspur, Amritsar (rural), Moga, Ferozepur and Faridkot – and re-positioned nine inspector general-rank cops.

(Clockwise from left) Harjit Singh Pannu is now AIG (intelligence) at Chandigarh, Ravinder Kumar Bakshi is the new SSP of Ferozepur, and Jagdip Singh Hundal, who has been appointed as commandant, 4th India Reserve Battalion (IRB). (HT Photos)

Indian Police Service (IPS) officer Naveen Singla will be the new district police chief (as SSP) of SBS Nagar, replacing Snehdeep Sharma of Punjab Police Service (PPS), who has been posted as Moga district SSP.

SSP, Amritsar (rural), Jasdeep Singh has been posted as SSP, Gurdaspur, vice Jagdip Singh Hundal, who has been appointed as commandant, 4th India Reserve Battalion (IRB). Hundal replaces Harkamalpreet Singh, who will be SSP of Amritsar (rural).

Ravinder Kumar Bakshi is the new SSP of Ferozepur, appointed against a vacant post, and Darshan Singh has been posted as SSP, Faridkot, vice Sukhminder Singh Mann, who goes to Amritsar as commandant of 5th IRB.

Moga SSP Harjit Singh Pannu will now be AIG (intelligence) at Chandigarh.


Parampal Singh, IPS, who was posted in Pathankot as IG (special narcotics cell), will now hold the post of IG (policy and rules) at Chandigarh; SK Asthana has been transferred from Chandigarh to Bathinda as IG zone vice Jitendra Jain, who will hold the post of IG (intelligence and counter intelligence) at Bathinda.

RN Dhoke is new IG (headquarters) whereas Dr Naresh Arora IG-cum-director special security group (SSG) will also hold additional charge of IG border at Amritsar.

Promod Ban is another senior IPS officer who has been transferred from the post of IG (counter intelligence) to IG (modernisation) and IG financial intelligence unit.

MF Farooqui, who was awaiting posting, has been posted as IG (counter intelligence) Amritsar.

The government has appointed Nilabh Kishore – on promotion – as IG (counter intelligence); Kunwar Vijay Pratap Singh, who was posted as DIG border range, as IG (Special Task Force-intelligence) after promotion. Shive Kumar, on promotion, has been re-designated as IG (economic offence wing) of vigilance bureau (VB).

AK Mittal, who was DIG (investigation), goes to Amritsar as DIG, border range.


The new postings of other PPS officers reshuffled are as follows: Raghbir Singh (AIG Punjab Armed Police-PAP Jalandhar); Ashok Puri (commandant 3rd IRB Ludhiana); Kashmir Singh (AIG,NRI, Patiala); Jaspal Singh (AIG, counter-intelligence, Patiala); Randhir Singh (AIG CI,Patahankot); Gurinder Singh (SP zonal, CID, Patiala); Paramjit Singh (assistant commandant AC, 3rd IRB Ludhiana); Satvir Singh (AC, 3rd IRB Ludhiana); Gurtejinder Singh (SP traffic, Chandigarh); and Gurpreet Kaur (SP, control room, Ludhiana).

also read

HT interviews Kejriwal: ‘In Punjab, CM face not important for people right now’
Show comments