Mandi Gobindgarh MC chief loses trust motion | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mandi Gobindgarh MC chief loses trust motion

punjab Updated: Aug 23, 2012 23:33 IST

Mandi Gobindgarh municipal council president Dharampal Rao was removed as the council president after 13 councillors, including those from the supporting party Congress, and the Congress' Amloh MLA voted in favour of the no-confidence motion moved against him on July 30.

Rao, who is also senior state BJP leader, was elected president with the support of the Congress municipal councillors and the then Congress Amloh MLA Sadhu Singh Dharamsot, but SAD councillors had opposed his election.

It may be mentioned that the no-confidence motion was submitted to executive officer (EO) of the council on July 30, with a copy to the Fatehgarh Sahib deputy commissioner.

The no-confidence motion was signed by 13 councillors including SAD's Sukhwinder Singh Bhambri, Rakesh Kumar, Kamaljeet Kaur, Satnam Singh and Daljeet Kaur; Independents Om Parkash Gupta, Bal Mukand Aggarwal, Mamta, Harsimarpreet Singh Bajwa (now in SAD) and Harpal Singh Nasrali, Congress' Joginder Pal Singla, Rajeev Kumar and Harmeet Kaur Bhambri; and Amloh MLA Randeep Singh.

Fatehgarh Sahib Congress committee president Harinder Singh Bhambri, whose mother Harmeet Kaur Bhambri is also a councillor, had also extended support to the move.

The meeting was held amidst tight security at the council office in the presence of the EO Mahesh Sharma. A total of 14 councillors, including Rao, attended the meeting and 13 passed the no-confidence motion by raising hands.

Talking to mediapersons, Sukhwinder Singh Bhambri, Om Parkash Gupta and other councillors accused Rao of corruption, the charges which were denied by Rao. There are 19 municipal councillors and area MLA Randeep Singh is also an ex officio member of the council.

As per rules, 14 votes in favour of the motion were needed to pass it.


Mandi Gobindgarh MC is among the richest councils of the state. Presently, the post of MC president is reserved for Scheduled Caste category. Apart from Dharampal Rao, two other candidates Harpal Singh Nasrali and Satnam Singh are eligible for the post.