Manpreet Badal revamps PPP | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Manpreet Badal revamps PPP

punjab Updated: Sep 28, 2014 23:09 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

People’s Party of Punjab (PPP) chief Manpreet Badal on Sunday said that in order to pose a strong challenge to the SAD-BJP alliance in the upcoming civic body polls, his party would initiate efforts to bring all opposition parties under one umbrella.

“We know that it would be very difficult to beat the ruling alliance in the civic body polls in various cities and towns across the state as these polls are conducted by the local administration who is already a tool in the hands of the government. Nevertheless to put up a strong fight, the PPP would form a five-member committee to talk to all opposition parties to fight the polls together,” said the PPP chief while addressing a press conference held to announce the new office-bearers of his party.

AAP’S popularity on the wane

On the Aam Admi Party (AAP), Manpreet said the popularity of the AAP, which showed a phenomenal rise in Punjab in the Lok Sabha elections, is fading day by day. The people of Punjab are losing hope in this new party which had created sensation by winning four parliamentary seats in the state, he added.

“I don’t know the exact reasons but it’s a fact that AAP is losing its sheen. The popularity graph of the party has come down with the same speed it as it soared,” said the PPP chief.

PPP’S new office-bearers

Manpreet announced more than 2500 office-bearers of the different wings of the PPP. The revamp was announced after all its units were dissolved following the Lok Sabha electionsGurpreet Singh Bhatti, who was the only prominent leader of AAP to stay loyal with Manpreet ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, has been made secretary general of the party. Bhatti had contested 2012 assembly polls from Khanna seat.

Besides the secretary general, the new list of PPP office bearers includes six senior vice-presidents, 10 vice-presidents, 26 district presidents, 34 general secretaries, 51 members of the central committee and 2,500 members of the general council of the party.

The youth wing of the party, which was earlier headed by comedian-turned-politician Bhagwant Mann, would now be led by Davinder Singh Ladi Dhose.

Dr Navjot Dahiya would be the chief spokesman of the party.

Prominent among the district presidents are Manmohan Singh Gumtala from Amritsar urban, Preetinder Singh Dhillon (Amrtisar rural), Jagmeet Singh Sahota (Fatehgarh) Hardev Singh (Bathinda), Pardeep Singh Sibia (Faridkot), Dr Navjot Dahia (Jalandhar urban), Baba Rajinder Singh Johal (Jalandhar rural), Surjit Singh Gill (Mansa), Amarjit Singh (Hoshiarpur), Raja Gurpreet (Kapurthala), Ajit Singh (Ludhiana urban), Dr Ravinder Singh Bhaana (Moga), Jagjit Singh Brar Fattanwala (Muktsar) and Mohinder Singh Sidhu (Sangrur).