More voices of dissent from Ludhiana | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

More voices of dissent from Ludhiana

punjab Updated: Jan 04, 2014 23:30 IST
Ravinder Vasudeva
Ravinder Vasudeva
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

In yet another voice of dissent, former minister and twice MLA Isar Singh Meharban on Saturday resigned from the post of the state executive member of the PPCC.

Meharban, who had unsuccessfully contested the last assembly elections from Jagraon and lost with a narrow margin of 200 votes, is perturbed over the appointment of his political opponent, Mayor Singh Behni, as the general secretary.

"Because of Behni lost polls the assembly with a narrow margin. A group of partymen led by Behni had fielded an independent candidate against me and he got 3,500 votes. But Bajwa has rewarded him with the post of general secretary," Meharban told HT, after announcing his resignation.

Meharban has fought the last four assembly elections from the party and is said to be close to former chief minister Capt Amarinder Singh.

"I served as general secretary in the state body announced by the last five PPCC presidents and this is the reward Bajwa has given me for my seniority," said Meharban.

He said in case Behni was not replaced soon, the entire Jagraon block of the party would tender their resignations.

In another blow to Bajwa, another former minister from Ludhiana and newly made president of Ludhiana (rural) district Malkiat Singh Dakha is also miffed at the appointment of a youth Congress leader from Payal, Lakhbir Singh Lakha, as the president for Fatehgarh Sahib parliamentary constituency.

The Fatehgarh parliamentary segment consists of three seats from Fatehgarh Sahib district and five assembly segments of Ludhiana district -- Samrala, Khanna, Payal, Raikot and Sahnewal.

"If Lakha is the president of the Fatehgarh Sahib parliamentary seat, as the new Ludhiana rural district president, I will be president for only two assembly segments, Gill and Dakha, that come under the Ludhiana parliamentary seat. I have urged the PPCC president to clarify the confusion," Dakha told HT.