Mritunjay, Param sail into 2nd round with easy wins in AITA | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mritunjay, Param sail into 2nd round with easy wins in AITA

punjab Updated: Jul 29, 2014 12:54 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

Seventh seed and Harvest Tennis Academy trainee Mritunjay Badola of Uttarakhand along with top seed Param Pun of Chandigarh sailed into the second round of the boys’ under-16 singles main draw matches of the AITA Super Series Tennis Tournament being played at the Harvest Tennis Academy on Monday. Mritunjay defeated his fellow trainee Amol Juneja 6-0, 6-1, while Param outplayed Aman B Patel of Gujarat 6-3, 6-1.

Second seed Sumit Pal Singh of Jammu and Kashmir also made it to the second round with a 6-2, 6-1, win over Suyash Gupta of Uttar Pradesh.
Another Chandigarh player Calvin Golmei also made it to the second round in boys under-16 after defeating qualifier Vipul Mehta of Delhi 6-0, 6-1.

Chandigarh’s Sagar Bains caused a mild upset by defeating eighth seed Arnav Bhardwaj of Haryana 6-7(4), 7-5, 6-3 in a keenly contested match.
Another Chandigrah lad Sabrang Sandal also stamped his class but ousting qualifier Ishan A Sethi of Uttarakhand 6-3, 6-1.

Two more Chandigarh players fifth seed Digvijay Pratap Singh and Kabir Manrai also made it to pre-quarterfinals with easy wins.
Digvijay defeated Anuj Malik 6-2, 6-0, while Kabir made a short work of Sohraab Singh of Chandigarh 6-3, 6-2.

The girls’ under-16 top seed Aarushi Kakkar of Chandigarh also had an easy outing dropping just one game in her 6-0, 6-1 victory over Neha Ghare of Maharashtra.

Qualifier Gunjan Agarwal defeated Khushbeen Kaur of Chandigarh 6-2, 6-3, while qualifier Nisha Rani of Haryana defeated Radhika Yadav 6-1, 2-6, 6-4.

Eighth seed Naituti Vyas of Gujarat ousted Nandini Singh of Chandigarh 6-0, 6-0, while third seed Sarah Dev of Punjab defeated qualifier Nandita Saxena of Delhi 6-0, 6-1.

Ludhiana district sports officer Kartar Singh Sehamby was the chief guest for the opening ceremony.