Namesakes of leaders have never fared well in elections | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Namesakes of leaders have never fared well in elections

punjab Updated: Apr 18, 2014 11:37 IST
Raghbir Singh Brar

The impact of Manpreet Singh Badal’s namesake in Bathinda with his Badal tag and election symbol ‘kite’, which was the symbol of PPP during the last assembly elections, would be clear only after the poll results would be out, but past experience shows that namesakes have not fared well in elections. Whether they contested purposefully or spontaneously is a different matter.

In 2004, when Sukhbir Singh Badal, now deputy chief minister of Punjab, had contested from Faridkot parliamentary constituency, there was a namesake Sukhbir Singh, who had contested as an independent and got only 2,735 votes while Sukhbir Singh Badal was the winner with 4,75,928 votes. But his namesake did not have the surname ‘Badal’.

In 2009, when Sukhwinder Singh Danny was the candidate of Congress from Faridkot, there was another Sukhwinder Singh, who fought as an independent candidate, but got only 711 votes while Danny had got about 3.95 lakh votes and lost to SAD’s Paramjit Kaur Gulshan.

In 2012, when Manpreet Singh Badal had contested the assembly elections from Giddarbaha after forming his new party as PPP candidate, there was another Manpreet Singh, of Muktsar, who had contested as an independent but got only 598 votes.

Manpreet Singh Badal had got 31,906 votes and lost to the Congress candidate Amarinder Singh Raja Warring.

During these parliamentary elections also, namesakes are also there from Faridkot constituency also. While Joginder Singh, 56, is the candidate of the Congress from here, there is another Joginder Singh, 75, a graduate, who has mentioned his address of Jalandhar and filed his nomination as an independent candidate from Faridkot (reserved).

Paramjit Kaur Gulshan, SAD candidate from here, has also two namesakes, one Paramjeet Kaur, 30, from Nangal village, who is contesting as an independent candidate.