Poll Facts about the constituency

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Faridkot
  • Updated: Apr 25, 2014 15:04 IST

Faridkot, before its reservation in 2009, has been represented by the chief minister Parkash Singh Badal and deputy chief minister Sukhbir Singh Badal respectively in 1977 and 2004.

Congress leader Jagmeet Singh Brar won the elections from Faridkot in 1999 by defeating Sukhbir Singh Badal.

Parliamentary elections 2009
In 2009, Paramjit kaur Gulshan of SAD had won the elections, defeating Sukhwinder Singh Danny of the Congress party with the margin of nearly 62042 votes. Gulshan got around 457734 votes while Danny had got 395692.

Both, Joginder Singh and Paramjit Kaur Gulshan, filed their nomination papers on April 9,which is considered to be an auspicious day.

also read

CMO seeks explanation from ex-DAO over unaccounted expenses
Show comments