PPP beats BSP in vote share in Fatehgarh Sahib | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

PPP beats BSP in vote share in Fatehgarh Sahib

punjab Updated: Mar 09, 2012 20:55 IST
Gurpreet Singh Mehak
Gurpreet Singh Mehak
Hindustan Times
People's Party of Punjab

People's Party of Punjab (PPP) did not win even a single seat but secured more votes than Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) in three seats in the area.

In the newly-carved Bassi Pathana constituency, 45,692 (45.11%) votes were polled by SAD-BJP nominee Justice Nirmal Singh (retired); 34,183 (33.74 %) by Congress' Harbans Kaur Dullo; 11,344 votes (11.20%) by PPP's Mohinder Pal; and 5,941 votes (5.86%) by BSP's Amarnath Singh.

In Fatehgarh Sahib constituency, Congress' Kuljit Singh Nagra got 36,573 (32.79%); Prem Singh Chandumajra of SAD-BJP alliance got 33,035 (29.62); Didar Singh Bhatti of PPP secured 32,065 (28.75); SAD(Amritsar) president Simranjit Singh Mann secured 3,234 votes (2.90); former minister Dr Harbans Lal 2,160 votes (1.94); and Tarlochan Singh of BSP 1,748 votes (1.57).

SAD (Amritsar) president Simranjit Singh Mann even lost his security deposit. Didar Singh Bhatti was SAD Sirhind MLA, but deserted the party when SAD ticket was allotted to Chandumajra. Later, Bhatti joined the PPP and contested elections.

In Amloh, 32,503 (34.85%) votes were polled by Congress' Randeep Singh; 29,975 (32.14) votes by Jagdeep Singh Cheema of SAD-BJP; 20,538 votes (22.02) by Jagmeet Singh Sahota of PPP; 4,867 votes (5.22) by Kuldeep Singh of BSP.

Congress rebels Gurdev Singh Khanian and Labh Singh Ahluwalia could not perform well.

Sahota was earlier in the Congress, but joined the PPP before assembly elections and contested elections from Amloh.

Meanwhile, political observers said it was wrong on the part of SAD to field Chandumajra from Fatehgarh Sahib. They suggested that SAD high command should have field him from Amloh as Chandumajra was in a more favorable position to win elections from there.

If Didar Bhatti was allotted the SAD ticket from Fatehgarh Sahib, there were better chances of him winning the seat for the SAD.