Property tax in 5 villages: MC to reject agenda; UT adamant on imposing tax | punjab$chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Property tax in 5 villages: MC to reject agenda; UT adamant on imposing tax

punjab Updated: Oct 26, 2015 14:19 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Chandigarh administration

The Chandigarh administration wants to impose property tax on five UT villages - Hallomajra, Palsora, Maloya, Dadumajra and Kajheri.

While the municipal corporation all set to reject the agenda of imposition of property tax in five villages - Hallomajra, Palsora, Maloya, Dadumajra and Kajheri - falling under its jurisdiction in a House meet on October 29, the administration seems to be too adamant about its decision to impose the tax.

The civic body can expect a minimum of `16 lakh a year from over 2,862 commercial establishments in these five villages. The rate, in fact, is `6 per sq ft per month but minimum price is `50 a month.

Shiromani Akali Dal councillor Hardeep Singh, who represent these villages, said, “The property tax is being imposed unnecessarily. These villages have been left neglected for years; the residents are deprived of basic amenities.”

“There is no point of imposing the property tax when these villages are not even included under the ‘Smart City’ project. The entire focus is only on the city, and it appears, the villages will not get any benefit,”he added.

However, a senior UT officer said the property tax has to be imposed to make the civic body financially stronger. “Whether it’s approved in the House or not, the administration will impose it,”he said.

Last year, the MC house tax assessment committee had also recommended imposition of the property tax on commercial establishments in these five villages.

The committee, however, has asked the officials to provide a detailed information regarding formulation of proposal to revise the existing property tax rates, and has asked for computerisation of the collection process to start an online payment system.

There are total 10 villages under the MC limits, and the house tax had already been imposed in Buterla, Badheri, Burail, Manimajra and Attawa villages in 2006.

At a time when the UT is keen on making the MC financially stronger, the civic body has failed to recover over `6 crore from property tax defaulters during 2014-15 alone.

Out of total 23 villages, Burail, Kajheri, Attawa, Buterla, Badheri, Palsora, Maloya, Dadumajra, Hallomajra and Manimajra villages fall under MC, while Dhanas, Sarangpur, Lahora, Khuda Jassu, Khuda Ali Sher, Kaimbwala, Kishangarh, Daria, Mauli Jagran, Raipur Kalan, Raipur Khurd, Makhanmajra and Behlana fall under the UT.

Gurpreet Singh, Pendu Sangharsh Committee chief, said, “The property tax should not be imposed if the authorities can’t provide us even the basic facilities. No initiatives like Smart City can be successful if villages remain underdeveloped; there involvement is equally important.”