Punjab Technical University inks MoU with Canadian university | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Punjab Technical University inks MoU with Canadian university

punjab Updated: Feb 16, 2015 21:58 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times


The University of the Fraser Valley, Canada has signed an agreement of mutual cooperation with Punjab Technical University (PTU) to benefit the computer science students of 14 PTU-affiliated colleges.

Vice-Chancellor, Rakesh Verma and secretary technical education, deputy registrar Ekonkar Singh Johal informed that Dr. Buta Singh Sidhu, dean academics of PTU had initiated the process with UFV, with the result that students who have completed their bachelor of computer application (BCA), bachelor of technology - IT or bachelor of technology from Punjab Technical University would be awarded credits by the University of the Fraser Valley (UFV) and they would get admission into the third year of bachelor of computer information system at their campus in Canada.

The global exposure, coupled with the effectively crafted curriculum, would expose PTU students to the latest concepts in the field and give them an edge in the domestic and global job market, Johal added.

Ravi Phillips of Canada's University of the Fraser Valley informed that this is a more structured career pathway for the students who not only would get credits for the studies completed here but also acquire degree from university of Canada.

Ravi Phillips further explained that the collaboration would help both the universities to explore further opportunities for academic exchange, faculty collaboration and shared research besides providing study-abroad opportunities for the Canadian students at PTU.

He informed that thirteen PTU's affiliated colleges have been shortlisted including Amritsar College of Engineering and Technology, Amritsar; Aryans College of Engineering, Banur; BIS College of Engineering, Moga; Chandigarh Engineering College, Landran; CT Institute of Engineering Management and Technology, Shahpur, Jalandhar; Doaba Institute of Engineering and Technology Ghataur, Kharar; Gulzar College of Engineering, Libra, Khanna; Lala Lajpat Rai Institute of Engineering & Technology, Moga; Ludhiana College of Engineering & Technology, Katani Kalan, Ludhiana; Rayat Bahra Institute of Engineering & BioTechnology, Sahauran, Kharar; RIMT Institute of Engineering & Technology, Mandi Gobindgarh; Satyam Institute of Engineering & Technology, Kotla Doom, Amritsar; Sardar Sukhjinder Singh Engineering & Technology College, Gurdaspur; and Sri Sukhmani Institute of Engineering & Technology, Derabassi.