Republic day celebrated with fervour | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Republic day celebrated with fervour

punjab Updated: Jan 27, 2014 15:58 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Minister of prisons, tourism and cultural affairs Sarwan Singh Phillaur unfurled the national flag here during district level republic day celebrations on Sunday.

In his address, Phillaur highlighted the achievements of state government in different fields. "The state government is committed to fulfilling the dreams of martyrs by ensuring corruption free and peaceful country for the people. Our government has launched several welfare schemes for every section of society," he said.

A PT show was presented by nearly 2200 students of different schools of the district on this occasion.

The district administration also honored freedom fighters, bravery award winners and those who have excelled in their fields. Tricycles and sewing machines were also distributed to the needy by Red Cross department. A cultural programme was also presented by students on this occasion.

Commissioner Jalandhar division R Venkatratnam; deputy commissioner Varun Roozam; Police commissioner Ishwar Singh; deputy commissioner of police Rahul S; SSP (rural) Jaspreet Singh Sidhu; district and sessions judge JS Kular were among the prominent present on this occasion.

Transport minister hoists flag at Kapurthala

The national flag was hoisted by minister of transport Ajit Singh Kohar, who honoured Darshan Singh Ibban and Hari Singh, both freedom fighters, on this occasion.

The minister also distributed 7 sewing machines, 5 tricycles and a wheelchair on this occasion. Exhibits from 12 different departments highlighting the achievements were the attractions of the day.

Paramjeet Kaur from SD Senior Secondary School, Nadala was honoured for winning state-level dance competition, Kulwinder Singh and Uday Kumar from Government Primary School Mehli gate, Phagwara were honoured for winning bronze medal in a national level table tennis competition.

Deputy commissioner DS Mangat; district and sessions judge Gurmit Ram Banial; SSP Inderbir Singh; district planning committee chairman Sarbjit Singh Makkar were among the prominent persons present on the occasion.