Road to assembly polls: In stronghold Ludhiana, AAP raises stakes, fields big guns | punjab$ludhiana | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 19, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Road to assembly polls: In stronghold Ludhiana, AAP raises stakes, fields big guns

punjab Updated: Aug 05, 2016 14:23 IST
Harshraj Singh
Harshraj Singh
Hindustan Times

Aam Admi Party candidate from Ludhiana West constituency, Ahbaab Singh Grewal with his wife, son and supporters celebrating outside the gurdwara at Sarabha Nagar in Ludhiana on Thursday.(Gurminder Singh/HT Photo)

With AAP announcing its four candidates for the assembly polls from Ludhiana district, it will be a tough clash because three of these were a stronghold of the party during the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

The Aam Aadmi Party declared HS Phoolka from Dakha, Ahbaab Singh Grewal from Ludhiana West, Gurpreet Singh Lapran from Payal and Harjot Singh Bains from Sahnewal. The party’s performance was better than Congress and Shiromani Akali Dal in Dakha, Payal and Ludhiana West in the Lok Sabha elections.


In Dakha, Phoolka got 46,518 votes against serving MLA Manpreet Singh Ayali’s 40,736 votes.

Back then the senior advocate lost the election from the Ludhiana constituency to Congressman Ravneet Singh Bittu by a margin of 19,709 votes. He stood second with 2, 80,750 votes. However, in Dakha, Jagraon, Ludhiana West and Gill constituencies, AAP’s performance was better because Phoolka got maximum votes.

Sources said the roadshow for Phoolka as the candidate from Dalkha will be conducted on Saturday.


Ahbaab Singh Grewal, general secretary, Punjab AAP (kisan and labour wing) is contesting from Ludhiana West where AAP’s performance was better in the Lok Sabha elections. Bharat Bhushan Ashu of the Congress is the serving MLA from the constituency.

After the announcement, Grewal and his supporters apid their respects at Gurdwara Sarabha Nagar and Durga Mata Mandir. He has planned to open 15-20 offices in areas under Ludhiana West.

In 2014, AAP stood first with 38,689 votes, followed by 36,552 votes for the Congress and 27,671 votes for SAD-BJP.


Now suspended from AAP, Harinder Singh Khalsa got maximum votes in this constituency. Khalsa is the elected MP from Fatehgarh Sahib.

But, Khalsa was behind Shiromani Akali Dal and Congress candidates in Sahnewal.

Cabinet minister Sharanjit Singh Dhillon is the serving MLA from Sahnewal constituency. The AAP has yet to declare candidates from Khanna, Ludhiana East, Ludhiana South, Atam Nagar, Ludhiana Central, Raikot, Jagraon, Samrala, Ludhiana North and Gill constituencies.


Sources in the Aam Aadmi Party claimed that some volunteers were unhappy with the decision of choosing Ahbab Singh Grewal as the candidate from Ludhiana West.

A volunteer, on conditions of anonymity, said there were others who were more deserving but their names were ignored.