SAD, BJP share seats in three councils of Fatehgarh Sahib district | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

SAD, BJP share seats in three councils of Fatehgarh Sahib district

punjab Updated: Feb 10, 2015 17:41 IST
HT Correspondent

With the SAD and BJP observers reaching to an agreement over seat sharing for the municipal council polls in Fatehgarh Sahib district on Monday, the rumours of the coalition partners parting ways have been put to rest for now.

The agreement was reach at a meeting between Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) district observer Santa Singh Umedpur and Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) election observer Harjeet Singh Grewal and BJP district observer Gurdev Sharma for three out of four municipal councils of Fatehgarh Sahib district.

Out of 74 wards in the four councils, 53 seats of three councils - Mandi Gobindgarh, Bassi and Khamanon - have been divided, while 21 seats of the fourth council, Sirhind-Fatehgarh Sahib, are yet to be divided.

We have offered the BJP seven seats for the Sirhind-Fatehgarh Sahib council polls, said Umedpur, as we have stronger candidates there.

BJP district president Rakesh Gupta, on the other hand, said, "Even as we are demanding 12 seats in Sirhind-Fatehgarh Sahib, the SAD is giving us seven. Hence, we have rejected their offer. If they do not agree to our demand, it will affect our alliance in other councils as well. We will speak to the party higher authorities about the remaining council seats."

Meanwhile, SAD (A) chief Simranjit Singh Maan said his party would be contesting the council elections and promised better civic amenities to the residents.