SAD-BJP wins panchayat polls in Moga | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

SAD-BJP wins panchayat polls in Moga

punjab Updated: May 22, 2013 01:06 IST
HT Correspondent

The SAD-BJP combine registered a big victory in the block samiti and zila parishad elections in this district while the Congress won only on five seats of the total 110.

The main competition was between the ruling SAD-BJP combine and the Congress while the People's Party of Punjab (PPP) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) were also in the contest.

The SAD-BJP alliance won 22 block samiti seats at Moga, Baghapurana, Nihal Singh Wala and Kot Ise Khan assembly constituencies in the district. The opposition Congress won only five seats while three independent candidates also won the block samiti seats. The winning candidates of the SAD-BJP alliance celebrated their victory and assured the voters that they would do development work in their areas.

The police had made sufficient security arrangements at the counting centres on Tuesday.

According to the official results, in block samiti Moga-1, Bhupinder Singh of the Congress won the Ajitwal seat.

SAD candidates Randhir Singh won from Chuharchak, Baldev Singh from Rauli, Nasib Kaur from Kapure, Paramjit Kaur from Dhudike and Sukhdeep Kaur from Daudhar Sharki for block samitis.

In Moga-2, Jaspal Singh of the SAD won from Khos Pandot, Natthu Singh of SAD won from Daulatpura Neewan, Amarjit Kaur of SAD won from Khukhrana, Karanjit Kaur of SAD won from Dhaleke, Jaswinder Kaur of SAD from Ghal Kalan, and Parupkar Singh of SAD won from Droli Bhai for block samitis. Congress candidate Harwinder Kaur won from Salhina.

In Baghapurana area, SAD candidates Gurmeet Singh won from Panjgrain Khurd, Kulwant Kaur from Lande, Baljit Kaur from Natthuwala, Iqbal Singh from Rode Sarja and Surjit Singh won from Malke. Sukhjinder Kaur of the Congress won from Bhaloor in Baghapurana block.

In Nihal Singh Wala, the Congress and independent candidates won from two places each. Independent candidate Chamkaur Singh won from Machhike to defeat SAD candidate Balwinder Singh, while Baljinder Kaur, another independent, won from Bilaspur. Congress candidates Sarwan Singh and Gurmeet Kaur won from Rauke Kalan and Meenian seats.

SAD candidates Gurmail Singh won from Lopo, Baljinder Kaur from Kussa and Hardeep Kaur from Himmatpura.

The SAD won all four seats of Kot Ise Khan block. Its candidates Gurmail Singh, Sukhminder Singh, Angrej Singh and Jarnail Singh defeated the Congress candidates.