SAD changes another candidate | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

SAD changes another candidate

punjab Updated: May 31, 2012 00:30 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Desperate to ensure its victory in the upcoming municipal corporation elections, the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) on Wednesday changed another candidate.

Sources said after a lot of deliberations, the party has decided to change its candidate from ward number 46. The Akali Dal has decided to field Jaswinder Chhada from this ward instead of the earlier announced candidate Prabhjot Dicxy.
Ironically, Chhada had rebelled against the party over denial of the ticket and filed his nomination papers from ward number 46 as an independent candidate on Tuesday.

It is learnt that the senior SAD leadership decided to change its candidate after a local Akali leader raised the matter.

Chhada is believed to be close to the SAD general secretary Prem Singh Chandumajra. The replacement of Dicxy by Chhada is seen as a setback to the Patiala mayor Ajit Pal Singh Kohli.

With this decision, the SAD has withdrawn its second candidate in as many days. On Tuesday, the party had replaced its earlier announced candidate from ward number 39. Youth Akali Dal president Preetinder Singh was replaced by his father and sitting councilor Jaspal Pradhan.

Considering his seniority and experience, Pradhan is being viewed as one of the potential candidates for the post of mayor. The withdrawal of Dicxy is also believed to be a setback to Kohli, who had supported his candidature.
Meanwhile, the nomination papers of the four candidates were rejected after the completion of the scrutiny process.

The candidates whose nomination papers have been rejected include Amarjeet Singh, an independent from ward number 8, Surinder Kumari, independent from ward number 39, Neeta (PPP) from ward number 42, and Rajni, an independent from ward number 44.

Additional election officer, Patiala, Anandita Mitra stated that the last date for the withdrawal of the nomination papers is May 31.