SAD clinches top two posts of block samiti as Cong members boycott polling | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

SAD clinches top two posts of block samiti as Cong members boycott polling

punjab Updated: Aug 04, 2013 11:47 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The 8 Congress members of Sri Hargobindpur block samiti, led by senior Congress leader Fateh Jung Singh Bajwa, boycotted the election to the offices of samiti's chairman and vice-chairman held at the office of the block development and panchayats officer at Sri Hargobindpur on Saturday.

The struggle was incited when local MLA Des Raj Dhugga of SAD insisted on casting his vote in the election. But the Congress block samiti members objected to it stating that it was against the rules. They also reported the matter to the state election commission secretary ML Sharma who directed that the MLA had no right to vote in the election of the office-bearers of a block samiti. Even then the MLA tried to vote and the Congress members walked out, boycotting the election.

Meanwhile, the present members elected Sukhdev Singh as chairman and Manjit Kaur as vice-chairperson, both of the ruling SAD. When contacted, MLA Des Raj Dhugga said that he had not cast his vote. The Congress members later raised slogans against the government, alleging that the ruling SAD-BJP alliance was throttling all democratic norms. Bajwa accused Dhugga of highhandedness to ensure the victory of SAD candidates in the election. Dhugga, however, denied the charge stating that the Congress was levelling false charges out of despair following defeat in the elections.