SAD’s Tinu tops candidates’ list on poll expenditure | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

SAD’s Tinu tops candidates’ list on poll expenditure

punjab Updated: Apr 23, 2014 12:43 IST
Jatinder Kohli
Jatinder Kohli
Hindustan Times

Pawan Kumar Tinu, the Shiromani Akali DalBharatiya Janata Party combine candidate from the Jalandhar parliamentary constituency, is on the top of the list of 24 candidates when it comes to election expenditure.

This was revealed by the details gathered from the election expenditure monitoring committee (EEMC) which on Tuesday analysed expenditure registers of candidates.

The expenditure statement, which Tinu submitted with the district election officer and expenditure observer, states that he spent Rs 38.88 lakh for his election campaign till April 21 in the constituency.

Congress candidate Santokh Singh Chaudhary, second in the list for spending money on his campaign, has showed his expenditure at Rs 11.58 lakh.

BSP candidate Sukhwinder Singh Kotli is third on the list with Rs 3.12 lakh while AAP candidate Jyoti Mann spent Rs 1.71 lakh so far.

Meanwhile, the Shiromani Akali Dal has made a representation to the district election officer over the disputed amount of Rs 21.87 lakh which has been added to Tinu’s campaign expenditure.

Shiromani Akali Dal district president Gurcharan Singh Channi said the expenditure team had added Rs 16.75 lakh as expenses incurred by Tinu by putting hoardings of the Bharatiya Janata Party’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi and chief minister Parkash Singh Badal.

He said that the party had given proofs on these and this amount should be added to the party’s expenses rather than Tinu. He further said the party had also already filed an appeal over expenditure added to Pawan Kumar Tinu’s account for paid news.

Dhirender Lal, the expenditure observer appointed by the election commission, issued notices to three candidates who failed to produce their expenses’ registers at a meeting on Monday.

The observer checked registers of other 21 candidates and matched it with the shadow registers. He asked the candidates not to conduct transaction in cash which is more than Rs 20,000.

The notices have been issued to Ajay Kumar Bhagat, Dharminder and Nirmal Singh Bolina who failed to show their expenditure registers.

The next date of checking registers has been fixed on April 26. If these candidates fail to submit their expenditure list, a case under relevant sections will be registered against them.

As per the list submitted by expenditures committee on April 18, the SAD candidate had shown Rs 29.39 lakh as expenses, Chaudhary Santokh at Rs 5.44 lakh, BSP candidate Kotli at Rs 1.29 lakh and AAP nominee Jyoti Mann at Rs 34000.