SAD to form 21-member panels in each Patiala village

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
  • Updated: Sep 25, 2015 19:45 IST
SAD Leader Deepinder Singh Dhillon addressing the worker meeting in Patiala on Friday. (Bharat bhushan/HT )

Patiala: Taking a dig at Amritsar Congress MP and former chief minister Captain Amarinder Singh, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) Patiala rural president Deepinder Singh Dhillon has claimed that the Capt would learn a bitter lesson, if he forms a new party.

“People will reject Amarinder and his filmsy ideas as he seems ready to leave the Congress, as confirmed by none other than Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) chief Partap Singh Bajwa,” Dhillon said, during a press conference to announce a new structure of SAD in the district.

Flanked by Youth Akali Dal president Harpal Juneja and others, Dhillon added, “The SAD is ready for the 2017 assembly polls and would regain power, again in alliance with the BJP. To ensure that we touch the grassroots, we have deiced to form a 21-member committee in each village of the district.”

On the Aam Aadmi Party, he claimed that the party could not even keep its four MPs united would fail to make a mark in the polls. “Even Bhagwant Mann faced stiff resistance from his party cadre at Ghanour rally,” he claimed.

On the fact that he worked in Dera Bassi, he claimed that he would stake his claim for the ticket from that constituency where he had contested thrice. “Demanding a party ticket is my right, but I would abide by the decision of the party high command. I have worked hard to build up the party in Patiala and expect to win all eight assembly seats,” he claimed. He added that under the new set-up, the party had formed a displinary committee under Randhir Singh Rakhra and a legal advisory committee under Gian Singh Mungo. “Nardev Singh Aakri has been appointed secretary general and chief spokesman. The new unit has 32 senior vice-presidents, 36 general secretaries, 58 vice-presidents, 19 organisational secretaries, three press secretaries, four joint secretaries, 21 secretaries, five additional general secretaries, four propaganda secretaries besides 27 member working committee members and 46 circle jathedars.

also read

PDA-Omaxe city residents ban SAD-BJP leaders’ entry to colony
Show comments