Varsities in Punjab to adopt 150 villages to boost development | punjab$most-popular | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Varsities in Punjab to adopt 150 villages to boost development

punjab Updated: Dec 22, 2015 20:37 IST
HT Correspondent
Punjab universities

Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal.(HT Photo)

Chief minister Parkash Singh Badal on Tuesday launched ‘Sampooran Gramin Vikas’ programme under which state universities will adopt 150 villages to boost development.

A decision to this effect was taken at a meeting between the chief minister and vice- chancellors of 19 universities of the state on Tuesday.

It was decided that every university will submit the list of villages adopted by it within a week. Then the experts would conduct a socio-economic survey of these villages to prepare a suitable plan for their development in accordance with demands of people.

While formulating the plan, thrust would be given to education, healthcare and vocational education.

Describing the universities as ‘lighthouse of expertise and technique’, CM Badal said these institutions can play a pivotal role in the holistic development of villages. He said the survey must cover all aspects related to rural development. The CM said he will personally monitor the development work in these villages after six months.

Citing the example of meritorious schools that have come up across the state, Badal the initiative has resulted in the empowerment of students of weaker sections. He told V-Cs to meet students of meritorious schools and give them more guidance on career opportunities.

During the meeting, Ludhiana-based Punjab Agricultural University and Guru Angad Dev Veterinary University agreed to adopt 51 and six villages, respectively. Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar, Punjabi University Patiala,

Punjab University, Chandigarh, Central University of Punjab, Bathinda, Maharaja Ranjit Singh Technical University, Bathinda, Punjab Technical University, Jalandhar, Lovely Professional University, Phagwara, Chandigarh University, Gharuan, Desh Bhagat University, Chitkara University, Ryat Bahra University, Sri Guru Granth Sahib University, Guru Kashi University, Adesh University, GNA University and Sant Baba Bhag Singh University also agreed to adopt five villages each.

The general manager of national bank for agriculture and rural development (NABARD) also agreed to adopt five villages.