Lok Sabha elections: JMM announces candidates, Sibu Soren to fight from Dumka | ranchi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha elections: JMM announces candidates, Sibu Soren to fight from Dumka

ranchi Updated: Mar 12, 2014 16:14 IST
Highlight Story

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) on Tuesday disclosed its list of candidates for three of the four Lok Sabha seats it will be vying for in Jharkhand, deciding to pitch its president Sibu Soren in his constituency Dumka once again.

The party announced candidates for the Rajmahal, Giridih and Dumka seats but was yet to decide on its candidate from Jamshedpur during its hours-long central committee meeting on Tuesday here. The JMM is in a pact with the Congress and the two have decided on a 4+10 seat sharing formula.

Senior party leaders Vijay Hansda will contest from Rajmahal, which is a reserved seat this time. The Rajmahal seat is significant for it was previously contested by JMM’s leader-turned-rebel Hemlal Murmu.

Jagarnath Mahto will contest from Giridih, which had earlier been the favourite contest of the late JMM stalwart Teklal Mahto.

The party failed to arrive at a consensus over who would be apt for the Jamshedpur Lok Sabha seat. Names of Jharkhand minister Champai Soren and party’s central general secretary Mohan Karamkar were discussed at the meet.

“The party is also planning to select seats in Bihar, West Bengal and Odisha. The names would be announced within a day or two,” said Sibu Soren.
Although he is the sitting MP from Dumka, Sibu Soren faces a tough fight this time as he will have to fend off the BJP and JVM-P. The Dumka seat may see an intense battle if JVM-P chief and former chief minister Babulal Marandi decides to contest. He has defeated the JMM twice.