On last day, voters defy Reds, heat to turn up at booths in Jharkhand | ranchi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

On last day, voters defy Reds, heat to turn up at booths in Jharkhand

ranchi Updated: Apr 25, 2014 01:35 IST
Highlight Story



The impact of voters’ awareness drive was witnessed on Thursday in Dhanbad LS seat which witnessed a good turnout compared to 2009. There was 59.79% polling despite the heat in almost all assembly segments of the constituency. It’s an increase of around 16% when compared to 2009, DC-cum-returning officer Prashant Kumar said.

Polling was peaceful barring minor clashes reported from Laiyakdih locality under the Nirsa police station area where four Congress supporters were injured during clash with MCC activists at booth numbers 331 and 331. Voter turnout in rural areas was higher compared to urban locations.


Defying Maoist threat, voters turned up in large numbers to exercise their franchise. Around 64.86% polling was recorded on Thursday.

Superintendent of police P Nirmal Kumar Mishra said elaborate security arrangements encouraged the people to turn up at booths.

The police said polling was peaceful, barring a few group clashes. Voters boycotted polls at booth number 182 at Kanchanbeda, booth number 134 at Murgabani and booth numbers 62, 63, 160 and 161 at Kundhit block in Jamtara. They demanded proper roads, power supply and water connection.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) chief Sibu Soren cast his vote in Bokaro and BJP candidate Sunil Soren cast vote at Tarbandha village.

JVM(P) candidate Babulal Marandi caste his vote in Ramgarh under Hazaribagh LS seat.


Ballots ruled supreme as heavy to moderate polling was witnessed at almost every booth across the Godda parliamentary constituency.

The villagers defied the Red diktat and exercised their franchise fearlessly. Not only this. They also braved the scorching heat to turn up in large numbers. Barring a few stray incidents of EVM snags and minor clashes among rival groups in Deoghar, Jarmundi and Madhupr, the polling passed off peacefully.

Rakesh Sharma, the DC-cum-district election officer of Godda said, “Record-breaking polling was recorded in the constituency.

“Our efforts have borne fruit. For the first time voters were seen standing in queues at almost every polling station in Deoghar. Voting in rural areas, including the extremist-affected pockets too, was encouraging,” Amit Kumar, the Deoghar DC-cum-DEO, said.

Rakesh Bansal, the Deoghar SP said, “Excepting minor clashes between rival groups, polling passed off peacefully in the district and adjacent areas.”

The Rajmahal parliamentary constituency recorded around 66.32% turnout, thanks to EC’s awareness drive. According to information, no untoward incident was reported during the daylong polling.

Deputy Commissioner-cum-returning officer of Sahebganj A Mutthu Kumar congratulated the voters for their active participation in the polls. The administration had set up 1,525 booths for over 13 lakh voters in the constituency.

The residents of Chitlo and Simla villages in Pakur boycotted polling at booth numbers 36 and 05 respectively, demanding drinking water facilities. Voters were presented roses, pens, chocolates and cold water at 66 polling booths. The voters praised the administration for creating a friendly environment at the booths.

“Our goal is to encourage the voters,” Kumar added. “Due to the scorching heat, temporary sheds were constructed at several booths,” said Kartik Kumar, a voter from Amraapra area of Pakur district.