RDBA poll registers 85% voter turnout | ranchi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
May 24, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

RDBA poll registers 85% voter turnout

Nearly 1559 out of the registered 1825 advocates of the RDBA cast their votes at two booths set up for the purpose

ranchi Updated: Feb 26, 2017 16:53 IST
Beanti Saran

Lawyers proceeding to cast their vote during the annual election of Ranchi District Bar Association at Civil court premises in Ranchi on Saturday(Diwakar Prasad/ Hindustan Times)

The Ranchi district bar association (RDBA), which went to poll to elect its office bearers on Saturday, registered 85% turnout of voters, sealing the fates of 94 candidates.

“Nearly 1559 out of the registered 1825 advocates of the RDBA cast their votes at two booths set up for the purpose. The election process went peacefully,” said Deepak Kumar, poll observer and a member of the Jharkhand State Bar Council.

The newly commissioned RDBA building on the civil court premises had an unusual activity different from daily grind as lawyers scurried from one booth to other lobbying for their respective candidates in the fray. The voting started at 10 am and came to a close on 5 pm.

Ballot boxes have been preserved in the strong room. The counting of votes would be taken up on Sunday and the results are likely to be declared late evening on the same day.

The electoral college of the RDBA consists of 1825 registered lawyers to elect 7-member association and 9 members for the executive committee for fixed two-year tenure. There are 94 candidates in the fray.

The election was held for the post of President, Vice-President, General Secretary, Joint-Secretary (Administration), Joint-Secretary (Library), Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer. Besides, election was held to constitute 9-member new executive committee.

The association’s incumbent and five times President, Sambhu Agarwal has again fielded himself for the same post. Besides, advocates Sampat Kumar Sharma and Hari Shankar Prasad have contested for the President’s post.

Advocates Sanjay Kumar Vidrohi, Arvind Kumar Singh, Brij Mohan Singh Yadav, Subhash Kumar Mishra, Kalicharan Sahu, Bharat Chandra Mahto, Pradeep Sarkar, Sanjay Kumar, and Sudhir Kumar Sinha entered into the fray for the post of General Secretary.