Swinging electoral fortunes of Azad brothers

  • Subhash Mishra, None, DHANBAD
  • Updated: May 20, 2014 01:15 IST

Two brothers fought the Lok Sabha elections from different states on tickets of two different political parties, and got different results.

Kirti Azad and Dr Rajvardhan Azad, sons of former Bihar chief minister Bhagwat Jha Azad, fought 16th Lok Sabha polls.


While Kirti contested form Darbhanga constituency in Bihar on a BJP ticket as the sitting MP, his elder brother Rajvardhan fought from Godda constituency in Jharkhand on a Janata Dal (United) ticket.

Kirti Azad won the elections with 31,4949 votes, defeating 14 other contestants. But his brother Rajvardhan lost his deposit, bagging just 27,906 votes and the 7th position among the 16 candidates in the fray.

Kirti Azad won the polls for the third time, his last two victories were in the 1999 and 2009 elections. Rajvardhan had contested for the first time.

While the elder brother chose his native district of Godda to contest from, the younger one picked his sasural (in-laws’ home) district of Darbhaga.

Kirti’s sasural falls in Nehra village under Darbhanga district.

Their father Bhagwat Jha Azad belonged to Kasba village under Mehrama block of Godda district.

Neither Kirti nor Rajvardhan preferred their father’s traditional constituency, Bhagalpur, which Bhagwat Jha Azad represented six times since 1952 in the Lok Sabha.

Besides being Union minister, Bhagwat Jha Azad served as Bihar chief minister from February 1988 to March 1989.

Before entering politics, Rajvardhan selected medicine as his profession, while Kirti became a cricketer.

The fate of the two brothers in these polls was similar to that of Mrigendra Pratap Singh and Amrendra Pratap Singh, who were sons of another former Bihar chief minister, Sardar Harihar Singh, in the 2005 assembly elections.

In the assembly polls of Jharkhand and Bihar, elder brother Mrigendra Pratap contested on an RJD ticket from Jamshedpur West and lost his deposit while younger brother Amrendra Pratap contested from Arrah seat in Bihar on a BJP ticket and won.

From Around the Web
Sponsored by Revcontent

also read

Dhanbad medical college ‘short of faculty’ for 100 MBBS seats
Show comments