Facebook users should not be surprised if they come across their photos existing in the virtual world despite having deleted them long ago. The photos do not disappear even after they are deleted and can still be accessed by anyone with a link to the images.
The company admits that its systems "do not always delete images in a reasonable period of time", the Daily Mail reported.
Deleted images vanish from 'normal' views of the site, meaning if you log in to Facebook and look on somebody's photo page, they won't be visible. But they would still remain visible to anyone with a direct URL link to the picture.
That means that if, for instance, a picture has been circulated by email, the image will still be there for anyone who clicks the link.
More info on data
Facebook seems ready to publish categories of data it collects from users, an Austrian student group lobbying for stricter privacy rules said Tuesday.
Facebook had agreed in December to overhaul privacy protection for more than half a billion users outside North America after an investigation found that its privacy policies lacked transparency.
with Reuters inputs