Google+ users can now transfer circles to another account | social media | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 19, 2017-Sunday
-°C
New Delhi
  • Humidity
    -
  • Wind
    -

Google+ users can now transfer circles to another account

social media Updated: Jul 14, 2012 17:54 IST
AFP
Google+

Google+ users can now link their existing circles, connections and preferences to a new Gmail account using Google’s Takeout service.

“A while back we announced plans for a tool that would help you transfer your circles from one Google+ account to another and ensure that your followers are automatically directed to your new, preferred profile,” Ronald Ho, Google+ Product Manager, said in a post on the social network. “Today, anyone can visit Google Takeout and click ‘Transfer your Google+ connections to another account’.”

The transfer process should take around 48 hours, but you’ll have to sit out a seven-day waiting period first.

There’s currently no facility to export all of your Google+ data outside of the social network, but Google lets you download your +1s, contacts, profile and stream through Takout -- which is much more than rival social networks, such as Facebook and Twitter, do.

Google also mentions that people who no longer want to use their old (or existing) Google+ account can delete their profile by visiting http://plus.google.com/downgrade and selecting “Delete your entire Google+ profile.”

For more information about the Google+ transfer process or deleting your account visit http://support.google.com/plus/bin/answer.py?hl=en&topic=2400106&answer=1716102.