EC announces nomination, scrutiny deadlines for five state assembly polls

  • Agencies, New Delhi
  • |
  • Updated: Oct 05, 2013 07:26 IST

While announcing the polling dates for five states Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Delhi and Mizoram -- Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath also declared the date of notification, the dates for the filing of nominations, scrutiny of nominations and withdrawal of nominations.

Sampath said that Delhi's last date of nomination is November 9, last date for nominations is November 16 and date for scrutiny of nominations is fixed for November 18.

The last date for withdrawal of nomination in Delhi is November 20.

Elections in Delhi would be held on December 4.


The CEC said that Chhattisgarh would go to polls in two phases, last day of nomination is October 25 and scrutiny of nomination on October 26.
Chhattisgarh will be going for elections in 2 phases, and the notification for 1st phase has been decided for October 18, while the notification for 2nd phase has been fixed for 1 November.

Elections for Chhattisgarh would be held first and in two phases-on November 11 and 19.

Madhya Pradesh

For Madhya Pradesh, the date of notification is November 1, while the last date of nomination is November 8.

Scrutiny of the nomination in Madhya Pradesh has been announced for November 9, and date of polls is November 25.

Elections in Madhya Pradesh would be held on November 25.

Last date of notification for Rajasthan will be November 5 and last date for nominations in the state has been fixed for November 12.

The date for scrutiny of nomination in Rajasthan has been announced as November 13, while the deadline for withdrawal of candidatures in the state has been fixed for November 16.

Elections in Rajasthan would be held on December 1.

The last day for notification in Mizoram will be November 9 and last date for nominations in the state is November 16.

The date for scrutiny of nominations in Mizoram is November 18 and the last day for withdrawing nominations is November 20.

Elections in Mizoram would be held on December 4.


The schedule for bye-elections from 167-Surat West Assembly constituency in Gujarat  and 83-Yercaud (ST) Assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu were also announced as: date of polling-4 December; date of notification- 9 November; last date for nomination- 16 November; date for scrutiny of nominations- 18 November; and last date of withdrawal of candidature- 20 November.

Counting day
The counting of votes for all five states would take place on December 8.

Sampath also said that the Model Code of Conduct for elections in these five states comes into effect immediately.

He said that in all 11 crore people would be eligible to exercise their right to vote at 1, 30,000 polling stations in these five states.

He also said that all measures are in place to conduct free and fair polls, including elaborate security arrangements.

Sampath said due protection would be given to Scheduled Tribe and Scheduled Caste voters and at vulnerable booths.

He announced that for the first time, the Election Commission would be deploying Central Awareness Observers to motivate voters to exercise their franchise in a bid to increase the voter turnout.

Taking note of the Supreme Court's recent ruling, giving voters the right to reject candidates in the electoral fray, Sampath said the Election Commission is taking adequate measures to educate both voters and officials deployed for election duty for the same.



also read

9-phased LS poll process from April 7 to May 12; results on May 16

blog comments powered by Disqus