HindustanTimes Sat,27 Dec 2014
73 candidates recontested, 42 make it to the House
Chandigarh, March 06, 2012
First Published: 22:49 IST(6/3/2012)
Last Updated: 22:52 IST(6/3/2012)
BJP supporters celebrate SAD-BJP alliance's success in the Punjab assembly elections, in Amritsar. PTI/Deepak Sharma

As many as 73 candidates who recontested the Punjab Assembly election, 42 make it to the 14th Vidhan Sabha.

Nineteen of these triumphant candidates belonged to the SAD, 16 to the Congress and seven to the BJP.

The prominent winners included Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, his son Sukhbir Badal, Sukhbir's brother-in-law Bikramjit Singh Majithia, Sr Badal's son-in-law Adesh Pratap Singh Kairon and PWD Minister Parminder Singh Dhindsa, all SAD nominees.

BJP's Manoranjan Kalia, Surjit Kumar Jyani, K D Bhandari and Anil Joshi and Congress' Amarinder Singh, Rajinder Kaur Bhattal, Sunil Jakhar and Kewal Singh Dhillon made it to the Assembly.

The prominent losers included Speaker Nirmal Singh Kahlon (SAD) and Deputy Speaker Satpal Singh Gosian (BJP).

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved