BJP picks Vijendra Gupta to take on Sheila Dikshit, Arvind Kejriwal

  • Neelam Pandey, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • |
  • Updated: Nov 07, 2013 02:42 IST

It’s official. A tough fight awaits Delhi chief minister Sheila Dikshit in the upcoming assembly elections.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Vijendra Gupta, former president of the party’s Delhi wing, will contest Dikshit in the New Delhi constituency. The chief minister is a three-time MLA from the seat.

The other heavyweight to vie for the seat is Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal, who is hopeful of sweeping the elections in Delhi this year.

The triangular battle of the Titans is set to warm Delhi up in the coming days, even though the Capital has started feeling the nip in the air after Diwali.   

BJP’s candidate list sent to Rajnath Singh

The final list of BJP candidates is likely to be announced on Wednesday night. It has been reportedly sent to party president Rajnath Singh for approval. The list was drawn up following a meeting of the party’s Central Election Committee (CEC), which has reached a seat-sharing arrangement with the Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal).

After much dilly-dallying, the BJP has conceded four seats to the ally. These are: Hari Nagar and Rajouri Garden in west Delhi, Kalkaji in south Delhi and Shahdara in east Delhi.


also read

Kejriwal govt takes charge of Delhi, has 70-point agenda to fulfill

blog comments powered by Disqus