HindustanTimes Tue,21 Oct 2014
Watson shines with all-round show
Colombo, September 30, 2012
First Published: 15:22 IST(30/9/2012)
Last Updated: 00:22 IST(1/10/2012)
Australia's Shane Watson celebrates the dismissal of South Africa's Captain AB de Villiers during the ICC T20 World Cup cricket match, Super Eight group between Australia and South Africa at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Sri Lanka. HT/Ajay Aggarwal

Shane Watson continued his impressive form with both bat and ball as Australia cruised to a comprehensive eight-wicket victory against South Africa in their Super Eight match in the World Twenty20 on Sunday.

Watson picked up two wickets for 29 with the ball and then hit 70 off just 47 balls for his fourth consecutive man-of-the-match award in as many matches in the tournament.

Chasing 147 for victory, Australia lost opener David Warner early but Watson snubbed South Africa’s hopes of victory with a 99-run stand for the second wicket with left-hander Mike Hussey (45 not out).

The all-rounder, who is now both the highest scorer and wicket-taker in the tournament, hit eight boundaries and two massive sixes during his knock before he was out caught by Wayne Parnell off left-arm spinner Robin Peterson.

Peterson was unlucky when Parnell dropped a difficult catch off his bowling to dismiss Watson when he was on 52. Captain and wicketkeeper AB de Villiers also missed a stumping chance to dismiss Hussey off the same bowler.

Australia's left-arm spinner Xavier Doherty, playing his first match of the tournament, picked up three wickets for 20 to put South Africa on the backfoot after Australia had opted to field first.

Peterson (32 not out) and Farhaan Behardien (31 not out) added 60 runs for the unbroken sixth wicket to help their team reach 146 for five.

Brief scores
South Africa 146/5  in 20 overs (R Peterson 32*, F Behardien 31*, X Doherty 3/20, S Watson 2/29); Australia 147/2 in 17.4 overs (S Watson 70, M Hussey 45*); MoM: Shane Watson.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

More »

t20 fixtures

Match Date Time Teams
1st 19/09/2012 10:00 GMT | 15:30 IST AUS vs IRE
2nd 19/09/2012 14:00 GMT | 19:30 IST AFG vs IND
3rd 20/09/2012 14:00 GMT | 19:30 IST SA vs ZIM
4th 21/09/2012 10:00 GMT | 15:30 IST NZ vs BAN
5th 21/09/2012 14:00 GMT | 19:30 IST AFG vs ENG

t20 standings

Chennai Super Kings 4 2 2 0 0 -0.049 8
Sri Lanka 3 3 0 0 0 +0.998 6
Kolkata Knight Riders 4 1 2 0 1 +0.488 6
Perth Scorchers 4 1 2 0 1 -0.474 6
Auckland Aces 4 1 2 0 1 -0.963 6
Australia 3 2 1 0 0 +0.464 4
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved