Churchill create history, bag trophy after 114 years | sports | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Churchill create history, bag trophy after 114 years

sports Updated: Sep 12, 2009 23:19 IST
Somshuvra Laha

Finesse ruled. Churchill Brothers won, making it the first time that a Goa club lifted the IFA Shield in the 114-year-old history of the meet. Mohun Bagan, for all their talk of presenting 'organised football' on the eve of the final, fell flat on their face when it came to converting opportunities that came their way.

Though the outcome was decided within regulation time, the game was won and lost before the breather. Churchill Brothers, aware that with time their opponents would find feet, killed off Mohun Bagan's chance with two quick goals in a seven-minute burst.

Everything went almost according to plan for Churchill Brothers as they rode a versatile Okolie Odafa slithering through the Mohun Bagan defences at will and Ogba Kalu orchestrating the midfield behind him.

Their back-line, manned by India defender Gourmangi Singh, held up well against attempts by Mohun Bagan to restore parity in the latter half.

The first half, however, went Churchill's way. Except for Lukram James's right-foot scorcher that ricocheted off the horizontal in the first minute, Mohun Bagan looked blunt.

That was perhaps because Suraj Mondal and Kalia Kulothungan failed to make inroads in the opponents' 18-yard box. Bagan were also unlucky to be denied a penalty when winger Snehasish Chakraborty was felled in the box.

Churchill, on the other hand, pegged back the Kolkata club with their blinding dashes. Odafa, with Khan Thang Paite and Reisangmi Vashum on either side, had Bagan on the run. Soon enough, they broke the ice when Odafa started a long run from the left, working his way around Rakesh Masih. Odafe was dispossessed after being brought down by Deepak Mondal but a vigilant Vashum fired home on the run.

Results: Churchill Brothers: 2 (Vashum 41, Odafa 46) Mohun Bagan: 0