East Bengal win Federation Cup | sports | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

East Bengal win Federation Cup

sports Updated: Jan 03, 2010 20:32 IST
Highlight Story

East Bengal lifted its sixth Federation Cup title with a 3-0 win over Lajong via penalties in an evenly contested final at the packed Nehru Stadium in Guwahati on Sunday.

Newcomers Lajong did well to hold goalless the big boys in Indian football for 120 minutes but the Shillong side couldn't hold their nerves when it mattered the most in the penalties.

Lajong's Anil Gurung, Samson Ramengmawia and Kyrshan Lyngshing failed to convert their spot-kicks.

Ghanian Yusuf Yakubu, Nirmal Chettri and Sanju Pradhan were on target for East Bengal while Harmanjot Khabra hit the woodwork as East Bengal also qualified for the AFC Cup, the second-tier club competition in the continent.