Emphatic wins for Andhra, Maharashtra | sports | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Emphatic wins for Andhra, Maharashtra

sports Updated: Jul 15, 2010 23:19 IST

Maharashtra kicked off their Santosh Trophy campaign in style after thumping Chandigarh 4-0 in their Cluster II qualifying round encounter at the Howrah Municipal Stadium in Kolkata on Thursday.

Chandigarh, who won their first national trophy last month in the junior category, were completely outplayed by a far more experienced Maharashtra side.

Maharashtra took the lead in the 35th minute when Paresh Shivalkar sent in a low cross from the left for Reuben D'Souza to lash home.

Surojit Bose, who was introduced upfront at the hour-mark, then scored a brace to take the game away from their opponents. Ten minutes from the final whistle, Bose latched on to Jatin Bisht's centre from the right and smashed home.

The ball, however, took a deflection off an opposition defender before crashing into the back of the net. The match commissioner however, later awarded the goal to Bose.

Seven minutes later, Alex Ambrose extended the lead with a powerful angular shot from the right before Bose completed the rout with his second goal two minutes later.

In a complete defensive lapse on the part of Chandigarh, the former Mahindra United striker was left unmarked and he capitalised on the opportunity by latching on to a loose ball in a melee and tapped home from close.

Andhra Pradesh notched up full points after defeating Tripura 2-1 in another Cluster II encounter at Barasat Stadium.

They were quick in opening their account when Faijal slotted home in the sixth minute, followed by another strike by W. Vijay Kumar in the 10th minute. Although Tripura staged a comeback from thereon, they could only muster a solitary goal through Liton Majumdar's 73rd minute strike.

In a Cluster I encounter at Khardah Stadium, a last-gasp goal from Don Bosco helped Karnataka edge past a stubborn Meghalaya 1-0.