EPL: Mourinho named Premier League manager of the year

  • AFP, London
  • Updated: May 27, 2015 14:59 IST

Chelsea's Jose Mourinho and Eddie Howe of Bournemouth have been honoured at English football's League Managers Association (LMA) end-of-season awards ceremony.

Mourinho, who was also named the Premier League's Manager of the Season, was not present as he was attending Chelsea's own awards ceremony.

Howe who led Bournemouth to promotion from the Championship, was named Manager of the Year, while Mourinho was named Premier League Manager of the Year for steering Chelsea to a league and League Cup double.

Howe, who was also named Championship Manager of the Year, is the first manager from outside the English top flight to win the overall award since Steve Coppell, then of Reading, in 2006.

Presenting the award to Howe, 33, at Tuesday's ceremony, Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers, last year's overall winner, said: "He's done a fine job, a remarkable job, and done it with style and humility."

Phil Parkinson of third-tier Bradford City was named FA Cup Manager of the Year after his team beat Chelsea and Sunderland en route to the quarter-finals of the tournament.

From Around the Web
Sponsored by Revcontent

also read

BCCI relents on DRS, to use it on trial basis in Test series vs England
Show comments