Koevermans names final squad for Nehru Cup | sports | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Koevermans names final squad for Nehru Cup

sports Updated: Aug 19, 2012 23:32 IST

Highlight Story

India's national football coach Wim Koevermans has named a 20-member final list for the Nehru Cup which kicks off at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here Aug 22.
The team is presently camping at Jaypee Greens, Greater Noida.

“I’m confident in the abilities of my boys,” Koevermans said. “The practice sessions have been good. It’s nice to see the boys pushing each other."
The list includes two India U-22 boys - Alwyn George and Manandeep Singh, who played in the AFC U-22 Championship in Muscat.
“It’s a dream come true for me,” said Alwyn. “The camp sessions have been an education for me and I’m maturing fast as a player.”

Manandeep, who had made his India debut earlier this year, said: “This is a new challenge for me. As a player, one needs to be flexible to adjust yourself in different situations. I’m trying my best and learning at every step.”
Defending champions India take on Syria in the opening match of the tournament Aug 22.

No jeje in squad

Portugal-returned Sunil Chhetri will expectedly lead the attack but his strike partner Jeje Lalpekhlua will be missed as he failed to figure for the Nehru Cup.
Midfielders Joaquim Abranches and Rocus Lamare were the other notable names missing.

The 20-member list is as follows: Goalkeepers: Subrata Pal, Subhasish Roychowdhury, Karanjeet Singh.
Defenders: Nirmal Chhetri, Denzil Franco, Gourmangi Singh, Gurwinder Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Syed Rahim Nabi.
Midfielders: Lenny Rodrigues, Mehtab Hossain, Jewel Raja, Francis Fernandes, Alwyn George, Anthony Pereira, Sanju Pradhan, Clifford Miranda.
Forwards: Robin Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Manandeep Singh.