‘Messi not right choice for Ballon d'Or’ | sports | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

‘Messi not right choice for Ballon d'Or’

sports Updated: Oct 02, 2012 23:44 IST

Lionel Messi does not deserve to win the next FIFA Ballon d'Or as he has only won one minor trophy this year, his former Barcelona team mate Zlatan Ibrahimovic
said on Tuesday.

“It depends whether you reward an individual or a collective work. Xavi is still playing at a high level, Iniesta also had a great season, they won the Euro while Messi has not won anything, just the King's Cup. Messi has won the Ballon d’Or three times, it’s now someone else's turn to win it,” Paris St Germain forward Ibrahimovic, who played with Messi in the 2009/10 season, told Eurosport.

The Ballon d'Or, which was merged with the World Player of the Year award in 2010, will be awarded on Jan. 7, 2013.

Eto’o returns to cameroon squad

Yaounde: Samuel Eto’o’s return to the Cameroon national soccer team was confirmed on Tuesday when the midfielder was named in a revamped squad for the decisive African Nations Cup qualifier against Cape Verde.

Eto’o had refused to play in the first leg of the tie after labelling the set-up around the team amateurish and last year led a boycott of a friendly in Algeria in a row over unpaid bonuses.

The four-times African Footba-ller of the Year said last week he had decided to make himself available for the national side again following a meeting with Prime Minister Philemon Yang.

Dynamo win subroto cup in U-17 category

New Delhi: FC Dynamo Kiev’s youth side conceded for the first time in the tournament but it was not enough to stop them from comfortably winning the junior (under-17) boys’ title of the 53rd Subroto Cup at the Ambedkar Stadium here on Monday. The team from Ukraine beat MSP High School, Kerala, 5-2.

Probables for friendly named

Kolkata: India football team head coach Wim Koevermans named a 31-member probables list for the international away friendly against Singapore on October 16. The final squad will have 20 players and will be announced after the first round of I-League matches.

Air India duo Prateek Chowdhary and Pradeep Mohanraj have received their first national call up.