No. 10 Numero Uno? Not this World Cup | sports | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

No. 10 Numero Uno? Not this World Cup

sports Updated: Jul 05, 2010 00:31 IST

It has long been seen as the magic number in football, but the number 10 shirt has failed to live up to its star billing at the South African World Cup.

Wearing the No 10 on your back has earned exalted, almost sacred, status over the years thanks not least to the exploits first of Pele with Brazil, then Diego Maradona with Argentina with Zinedine Zidane reprising the role in 1998. But while what the Brazilians call the ‘dez’ and the Argentines the ‘diez’ has taken on iconic stature, the current generation have thus far failed to live up to their forebears.

Brazil number ten Kaka had hoped to engrave his name in the World Cup hall of fame despite coming into the tournament on the back of an injury-plagued, below par season at Real Madrid.

But his showing remained obstinately on a lower plane as the Brazilians never hit the heights of Pele’s generation, bowing out meekly to the Dutch after Kaka again failed to hit the target. Three assists and no goals was not what fans of the auriverde had been demanding.

As for Lionel Messi, the record books will show that his second World Cup finals ended in similar ignominy as his first. In 2006, he was left on the bench as Germany beat Argentina on penalties.

This time, he failed to live up to his billing as the world’s greatest player continually running down blind alleys as the Germans this time thrashed his countrymen 4-0.

As for England, Geoff Hurst set the historical bar sky high with his hattrick in the 1966 final. But fast forward four decades and this year’s vintage, Wayne Rooney, endured a turgid tournament, which saw him produce plenty of toil but with little reward.

Meanhile, a detailed look at other squads from title-winning nations who disappointed shows that France and Italy also suffered from poor number ten showings with Sidney Govou and Antonio di Natale respectively not in the same league as Zidane or 1994 finalist Roberto Baggio.