Spain names unchanged teams for World Cup final | sports | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Spain names unchanged teams for World Cup final

sports Updated: Jul 11, 2010 23:34 IST

Spain will start with an unchanged team for the World Cup final against the Netherlands on Sunday at the Soccer City in Johannesburg.

Striker Fernando Torres was again on the bench, with Pedro Rodriguez instead starting the match.

The Dutch made two changes, bringing back Nigel de Jong for Demy de Zeeuw and starting with Gregory van der Wiel instead of Khalid Boulahrouz. Playmaker Wesley Sneijder was again in the midfield behind forwards Arjen Robben and Robin van Persie. Spain will again rely on the midfield passing of Xavi Hernandez and Andres Iniesta, with striker David Villa playing up front. The Spanish, who are trying to become the third team to hold the world and European titles at the same time, have Iker Casillas in goal, with Sergio Ramos, Carles Puyol, Gerard Pique and Joan Capdevila in defense.

Spain has won all three of its knockout round matches 1-0, and Villa scored in two of them. Puyol scored the lone goal in the semifinals against Germany.

Villa and Sneijder both have a chance to win the Golden Boot award. Both have five goals so far at the tournament. The Dutch, who have scored five more goals than Spain in South Africa, will again have Maarten Stekelenburg in goal, and Mark van Bommel and De Jong will protect the four-man defense.


Netherlands: Maarten Stekelenburg, Gregory van der Wiel, John Heitinga, Joris Mathijsen, Giovanni van Bronckhorst, Mark van Bommel, Nigel de Jong, Dirk Kuyt, Wesley Sneijder, Arjen Robben, Robin van Persie.

Spain: Iker Casillas, Sergio Ramos, Carles Puyol, Gerard Pique, Joan Capdevila, Sergio Busquets, Xabi Alonso, Xavi Hernandez, Andres Iniesta, Pedro Rodriguez, David Villa.