Sukanta Nagar wins U-14 Subroto title | sports | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sukanta Nagar wins U-14 Subroto title

sports Updated: Oct 26, 2009 01:24 IST
Anupma Tripathi

Sukanta Nagar Vidyaniketan, West Bengal dethroned defending champions Charity School, Kohima, Nagaland by beating them 1-0 in the final of the U-14 Subroto Cup at Ambedkar Stadium on Sunday. Striker Samir Karmakar scored the winner in the 61st minute when medio Prosenjit Saha fed him from the right. Goalkeeper Keyidwasaplang had advanced to fend off the attack, but Karmakar chipped the ball over his head to score.

S.K Paul, coach of the winning side was elated. "We have very skilful players in the side. Though my boys lacked in physical strength, but they played much better."

Nagaland coach Kevilbei said, “The boys got a little nervous under the floodlights. In addition to that, we were a bit too defensive in the second half.”

Tarun Roy, representative of the All India Football Federation, here to select boys for scholarship in the u-14 category, said that it was overconfidence that did Charity School in. “One could tell from their body language that they took their opponents very lightly,” he said.

Scholarship winners in the U-14 category

Harpal (Govt Central School, Chandigarh)
Uttam Rai (Air Force School)
Suraj Rana (Army Boys, Chandigarh)
Krishna Das (Rajani English School, Manipur)
Tilak Subba (Namchi Sports hostel, Sikkim)
Saiborlang Kharpan (St. john's School, Meghalaya)
S.K. Parwes (Sagarbhanga, West Bengal)
Nelson Horo (Govt, Cetral School, Assam)
Ajay Kumar (Mamta Modern School, Delhi)
Jaideep (Air Force Bal Bharti School, Delhi)
Jiren Roy (SAI, Kolkata)
Laldhuwama (Hmar Veng School, Mizoram)
Nitin Dayal (Uttarakhand)
Alwin D'Sauza (Govt. School, Goa)
Asseen Toppo (SAI, Kolata)
Avijit Das (NCC, West Bengal & Sikkim)

Who gets what
Winners: Rs 1 lakh, Sukanta Nagar Vidyanketan, West Bengal
Runners-up: Rs 60,000, Charity School, Kohima, Nagaland
Best player: Rs 10,000, Prakash Majumdar (Army Boys, Shillong)
Best coach: Rs 15,000, S.K. Paul