Delhi takes off, turns out to vote for 7 seats

Around four months after assembly elections in the Capital, seven Lok Sabha constituencies of Delhi vote on Thursday.

After a spectacular showing in the Delhi assembly polls and a 49-day stint in power, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) hopes to pull off another stunner on its national debut.

An early AAP internal assessment projected it would win four seats: New Delhi, Chandni Chowk, East and West Delhi. However, another internal survey, closer to voting day, claimed the party would sweep all seven.

The BJP, on the other hand, feels it has a good chance in West, South, North East and North West Delhi. The saffron party is also hopeful of a sweep, riding on prime minister nominee Narendra Modi's direct pitch to voters.  

The Congress, which took a beating in the assembly polls, is hoping to stage a comeback. 
All eyes are on the Capital to know if Jama Masjid Shahi Imam Syed Ahmed Bukhari's appeal to Muslims to support the Congress will have any impact.   

Watch: Kejriwal's litmus test begins as Delhi goes to polls

Chandni Chowk has a sizeable Muslim population. It will see a mega fight of BJP candidate Harsh Vardhan, Union minister Kapil Sibal and AAP's Ashutosh, a journalist-turned-politician.

Besides, North East Delhi has the highest share of Muslim population (close to 30%) and East Delhi has more than 16% Muslims.

The Congress' internal survey says it is winning the New Delhi seat and faces a tough contest in Chandni Chowk, North East Delhi and East Delhi.

If Muslim votes go to the Congress, it could win at least two of these three seats. 

Full Coverage: My India My Vote

7 Lok Sabha seats of Delhi
1. Chandni Chowk
Congress (Kapil Sibal)
BJP (Harsh Vardhan)
AAP (Ashutosh)
2. North East Delhi
Congress - JP Agarwal
BJP - Manoj Tiwari
AAP - Anand Kumar
3. East Delhi
Congress - Sandeep Dikshit
BJP - Maheish Girri
AAP - Rajmohan Gandhi
4. New Delhi
Congress - Ajay Maken
BJP - Meenakshi Lekhi
AAP - Ashish Khetan
5. North West Delhi
Congress - Krishna Tirath
BJP - Udit Raj
AAP - Rakhi Birla
6. West Delhi
Congress - Mahabal Mishra
BJP - Parvesh Verma
AAP - Jarnail Singh
7. South Delhi
Congress - Ramesh Kumar
BJP - Ramesh Bidhuri
AAP - Devinder Sehrawat


also read

Kerala sees maximum voter turnout at 76%

blog comments powered by Disqus