59.20% voter turnout in Rajasthan, up 9.4% from 2009

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Jaipur
  • |
  • Updated: Apr 25, 2014 08:01 IST
  • Priya Dutt

    Congress' Priya Dutt (R) and her husband, Owen Ronson pose for a photograph after casting their votes at a polling station in Mumbai. (AFP photo)

  • polling booth

    First time voters shows their inked fingers after casting votes at a polling booth in Murshidabad, West Bengal. (PTI photo)

  • Lok Sabha polling

    Women voters wait to cast their vote at a polling station in South Dinajpur district of West Bengal. (PTI photo)

  • Chennai.

    A woman casts her vote at a polling station in Chennai. (Reuters)

  • Lok Sabha polls

    Congress candidate from South Mumbai Milind Deora cast his vote at a polling booth for Lok Sabha polls in Mumbai. (Kunal Patil/HT Photo)

  •  Lok Sabha polls

    Young and first time voter Nitish Toprani (19) shows her inked finger after casting vote for Lok Sabha polls in Mumbai. (Kunal Patil/HT Photo)

  • Narendra Modi

    Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, waves to supporters as he arrives in an open vehicle to file his nomination in ...

  • Narendra Modi

    Chief minister of Gujarat and BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi prays in front of a statue of former politician Madan Mohan Malviya during a ...

  • Guwahati

    People standing in queue to cast their vote at Baghorbori area of Guwahati on Thursday. (PTI Photo)

  • J Jayalalithaa

    AIADMK leader and chief minister of Tamil Nadu J Jayalalithaa displays her ink-stained finger as she poses for a photograph after casting her ballot at ...

Rajasthan, where polling was held in five seats - Dausa, Alwar, Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Karauli-Dholpur and Bharatpur - recorded a turnout of 59.20%, which is 9.4% higher than 2009 election figures.

Except Dausa, where voting declined by 3.15% compared to 2009 elections, the balloting was higher in all the seats. The overall voting percentage in the two phases so far stands at 62.9%.

Chief electoral officer Ashok Jain said the polling was peaceful barring one or two minor incidents of violence. Four photojournalists and a driver were injured when a mob attacked them in Santha village in Dausa district.

Their vehicle, cameras and laptops were also damaged. The media team was on way to cover a clash between ITBP personnel and the villagers during the polling.

Jain said that people in a few villages of the five constituencies initially boycotted polls over some local issues, but after persuasion, they cast their votes.

Long queues were seen early in the morning with voters lining up to beat the heat in this desert state.

Rajasthan has 25 parliamentary constituencies, and in the second and final phase voting is being held in the five constituencies. Union minister Jitendra Singh, who is contesting from Alwar constituency, was among the first to cast his vote.

In the first phase April 17, voter turnout of around 63.75% was reported in the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies that went to the polls then.

Reports of problems in EVMs came in from Bharatpur, Karauli and Dausa districts, where the machines were repaired or replaced.

India's former cricket captain Mohammad Azharuddin and Jitendra Singh of the Congress and former director general of police Harish Meena and Mahant Chandnath of the BJP, besides Kirodi Lal Meena of the National People's Party are some of the main contestants in the state.

In the 2009 elections, the Congress had won 20 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats from the state, BJP four and Independent one.

Updates from other states polling is Phase 6:

Mumbai | Maharashtra | Tamil Nadu | Madhya Pradesh | Uttar Pradesh | Jammu and Kashmir | Bihar | Assam

Full coverage: My India my vote

In pictures:
 Key candidates in fray

Here's a map for the constituencies going to polls on Thursday. On searching, you will get details of all parties fighting from a constituency and key candiates there:

Facts and Figures

also read

Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi left in the cold for now

blog comments powered by Disqus