Live: Last phase of LS polls in 17 seats in Bengal

  • PTI, Kolkata
  • |
  • Updated: May 12, 2014 07:48 IST
  • key candidates

    A combination picture of the key candidates in the fray for the ninth and last phase of the LS polls. (Agency Photo)

  • Yogi Adityanath

    BJP MP Yogi Adityanath being welcomed by party workers during a public meeting in Gorakhpur. (Photo/Hindustan Times)

  • Sudip Bandyopadhyay

    TMC candidate Sudip Bandyopadhyay with his wife actress Naina Bandyopadhyay during his election campaign in North Kolkata. (PTI Photo)

  • RPN Singh

    Congress candidate RPN Singh with Sushil Kumar Shinde at AICC HQ in New Delhi. (Photo by Sanjeev Verma/Hindustan Times)

  • Narendra Modi

    BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendrda Modi addressing an election rally in Mirzapur. (HT Photo/Ajay Aggarwal)

  • Mulayam Singh Yadav

    Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav. (PTI Photo)

  • Kejriwal

    AAP convener Arvind Kejriwal during a press conference in Varanasi. (PTI Photo)

  • Jagdambika Pal

    Jagdambika Pal with BJP's PM candidate Narendra Modi during an election campaign rally in Sidharth Nagar. (PTI Photo)

  • Ajay Rai

    Congress candidate Ajay Rai with party vice-president Rahul Gandhi during an election campaign rally in Varanasi. (AP Photo)

The last phase of the Lok Sabha polls in 17 seats in West Bengal on Monday would be crucial for the Trinamool Congress which would seek to retain the 14 seats it had won in 2009.

Prominent among the 188 candidates are TMC's Sudip Bandyopadhyay in Kolkata North, Dinesh Trivedi in Barrackpore and Sougata Roy in Dum Dum, besides celebrities like Dipak Adhikari (Dev) in Ghatal and Tapas Paul in Krishnagar.

Trinamool Yuva president Abhishek Banerjee, nephew of Mamata Banerjee, is also a candidate to watch out.

CPI-M's Subhasini Ali is fighting from the Barrackpore seat.

BJP's candidate magician PC Sircar (Junior) is contesting from Barasat while WBPCC president Adhir Chowdhury is fighting from Berhampore.

Also in the fray were former finance minister Asim Dasgupta of the CPI-M and former Union minister Tapan Sikdar of the BJP in Dum Dum.

The 17 Lok Sabha constituencies going to polls are Beharampore, Krishnagar, Ranaghat, Bongaon, Barrackpore, Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata (South), Kolkata (North), Tamluk, Contai and Ghatal.

Of the 17 constituencies, the CPI(M) had lost all the seats in the 2009 Lok Sabha election, while the CPI, SUCI and the Congress won one seat each.

The ruling Trinamool Congress had won 14 in 2009, while it had won only one seat in the 2004 general election. In the 2011 assembly election, the TMC had made deep inroads in the assembly segments falling in these 17 seats covering the districts of Kolkata, North 24-Parganas, South 24-Parganas, East Midnapore and Nadia.

An electorate of 2,55,75,744 would be eligible to vote. Central paramilitary forces would be deployed at all the hyper-critical booths, while there would be web casting and videography.


also read

Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi left in the cold for now

blog comments powered by Disqus